Teams to Watch: 2020 TN Div. 1 Small State XC Meet

Signal Mountain has been dominant in Division One Small Schools.

The Eagles boys won their first state title in school history last year. The girls are looking for their fourth straight title, which would give them seven first place trophies out of the last eight years.

And both teams appear to be in good position to defend their titles.

The Signal Mountain girls come into this race with an average time over two minutes faster than their top challenger.

The Eagles have three girls seeded in the top five in Sophia Gibby, Kelsey Thompson and Hannah Laramore. Gracen Glover and Ada Boyd round out their top five in 13th and 15th based on season-bests this year in our Milesplit TN database.

Signal Mountain High School (TN)
1) Sophia Gibby19:50.4
2) Kelsey Thompson19:59.5
3) Hannah Laramore20:07.1
4) Gracen Glover21:26.1
5) Ada Boyd21:30.0
Average Time: 20:34.63 Total Time: 1:42:53.13 1-5 Split: 1:39.51
6) Aubrey Lynch21:46.7
7) Lisa Lin21:52.0

Defending individual champion Alyssa Andrea leads a strong Fairview High School team into this race with a shot at the podium. Andrea has run 19:19.45 this year followed by Loren Sloan and Maddie Sanderson.

Merrol Hyde will have the inside track at the No. 2 position though behind the leadership of Gianna Cruz. She's ranked seventh coming into this race with a 20:20.08 season-best.

On the guys side, Signal Mountain has more runners seeded in all-state positions than anyone else in the league.

Joshua Pote and Colton Underwood lead the way at 16:24.84 and 16:48.66 respectively. They'll both have good chances at finishing in the top ten on Thursday afternoon.

Maxwell Sewell, Kaid Boehm and Noah Shriner round out a strong top five that has an average time of 16:55.69 when you put together all of their season bests.

Take a look at the full list right here.

Signal Mountain High School (TN)
1) Joshua Pote16:24.8
2) Colton Underwood16:48.7
3) Maxwell Sewell16:55.5
4) Kaid Boehm17:00.2
5) Noah Shriner17:29.3
Average Time: 16:55.69 Total Time: 1:24:38.45 1-5 Split: 1:04.43
6) Mason Howell17:33.1
7) Jack Gibby17:59.5

Parker Breitling and Merrol Hyde Magnet are the top challengers. Breitling comes in with the fifth-best season best in this field at 16:31.95, following by Eric Popa's 17:56.03 as their No. 2 runner.

Look for Fairview High School, White House-Heritage High School and Chattanooga School for the Arts & Sciences to have some runners near the front as well.