Renfree Named NHSCA XC Runner of the Year

Jake Renfree has been named the National High School Coaches Association National Senior Boys' Cross Country Athlete of the Year, per a release on Tuesday night.

He's the first runner from Tennessee to receive the award since Brentwood Academy's Andrew Bumbalough in 2005.

The Knoxville Catholic senior and Notre Dame signee finished second at Foot Locker Nationals last fall after winning the Division I Large Schools State Championship. He finished fifth at Foot Locker in 2017 as a junior.

"Jake is an excellent example what this award stands for," said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA.  "He has excelled as much in the classroom as he has as a runner. We congratulate Jake on an outstanding high school career and wish him success at Notre Dame."

Each of the honorees will receive a beautiful plaque, per the NHSCA.  The Athlete of the Year honoree will also be displayed in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.

Past selections for Senior National Boys' Senior Cross County Athlete of the Year:

2018 - Aiden Troutner - Timpview HS, Utah

2017 - Casey Clinger - American Fork HS, Utah

2016 - Drew Hunter - Loudoun Valley HS, Virginia

2015 - Grant Fisher - Grand Blanc HS, Michigan

2014 - Taylor "Kai" Wilmot - North Central HS, Washington

2013 - Edward Cheserek, St. Benedict's Prep, New Jersey

2012 - Futsum Zeinasellassie - North Central HS, Indiana

2011 - Lukas Verzbicas - Sandburg HS, Illinois

2010 - Wade Meddles - Sierra Lutheran HS, Nevada

2009 - Reed Connor - The Woodlands HS, Texas

2008 - Chris Derrick - Nesqua Valley HS, Illinois

2007 - Chad Hall - Big Bear HS, California

2006 - A.J. Acosta - El Camino HS, California

2005 - Andrew Bumbalough - Brentwood Academy, Tennessee

2004 - Matt Withrow - Andrew HS, Illinois

2003 - Chris Solinksy - Stevens Point HS , Wisconsin

2002 - Timothy Moore - Novi HS, Michigan

2001 - Dathan Ritzenheim - Rockford HS, Michigan

2000 - Donald Sage - York HS, Illinois