2017 Tennessee USTFCCA Coaches of the Year Announced

The USTFCCA announced its selections for the 2017 cross country coaches of the year.

Siegel's Phil Young (boys coach) and Signal Mountain's Dustin Carpenter (girls coach) were the winners in the state of Tennessee.

According to the USTFCCA, state-by-state winners were selected based on their teams' performances throughout the 2017 cross country season.

Among the factors taken into consideration were team score and placement at the state championships, margin of victory, performance against rankings if available, individual championships, and how their teams' performances stacked up to previous years (e.g. first title in school history, consecutive titles, etc.).

Young's Siegel Stars won the Division I Large Schools state championship in a loaded field. Led by Dawson Reed and Tucker Moss, the Stars were consistently in our top five all season.

Carpenter's Signal Mountain squad also captured a state championship this year. Mattie Parker (3rd) led Signal to its Division I Small Schools title back in November.