2017 Male All-MKXC Track and Field Team

This summer the Metro Knoxville Cross Country and Track and Field Coaches Association (MKXC) solicited nominations for the inaugural All-MKXC Track and Field Teams from member coaches. A committee of coaches selected five team members of each gender from sprints, distance, and field event groups and recognized team members at a ceremony at Farragut High School on July 31, 2017. The Coaches Association recognized each athlete and presented them each with a commemorative orange and white baton from UCS.

2017 MKXC Male Athlete of the Year:  Joshua Sobota (Bearden)

The most dominant discus thrower in the state, Sobota set a state record of 190-3 in winning the AAA state title, and he followed that up with a 6th place finish at New Balance Nationals Outdoor, throwing 186-2. He never lost a discus event in the state this year. Equally adept at the shot put, Sobota won every shot event he entered in Tennessee this year, finishing with an AAA state title throw of 63-8.25. He then placed 3rd  in the shot at New Balance Nationals Outdoor with a personal record of 65-11. Indoors, Sobota won the Tennessee State Indoor title in the shot and placed 8th at New Balance Nationals indoor.


2017 All-MKXC Male Track and Field Team



Elijah Howard (Webb)

PRs - 100m 10.56    200m 21.73

KIL Champion 100 & 200

All-State in 100 & 200 DII

Jazine Pelcher (AE)  

PRs - 100m 10.84 200m-22.57

Member of State Champion Sprint Relay  

Adan Vazquez (HVA)  

PRs - 110h 15.17 - 300h 39.94

KIL Champion in the 110s - State Qualifier in Both Hurdles

Will Wright (HVA)          

PRs - 200m 22.43 400m 48.58

KIL Champion in 400 - State Qualifier in 400

Kashief Warren (AE)                             

PRs - 100m 10.89 200m 21.97

Member of State Champion Sprint Relay 




Kenton Bachman (HVA)

PR - 800m 1:52.37

KIL & Section Champion 800 - All-State 800 AAA

7th Place @ New Balance Nationals

Spencer Flint (Farr) 

PRs - 400m 49.80  800m 1:56.97

All-State 800 AAA

Georde Goodwyn (Cath)                                                      
PRs - 800m 1:58.32   1600m 4:22.24  3200m 9:19.62

KIL Champion 1600 - State Champion 800 & 1600

All-State 800-1600-3200  A-AA


Carter Coughlin (Webb)                                                      
PRs - 1600m 4:15.95  3200m 9:20.24

KIL Champion 3200 - State Champion 1600 & 3200 Div II


Tim Thacker (Grace)                                           

PRs 800m 1:56.51  1 mile 4:28.83 - 3200 9:32.52

All-State 800 A-AA


Jacob Sobota (Bearden)  

PRs -  LJ 21-11.75 indoor  Pole Vault 16-1 indoor Deca - 6472

KIL & Section Champion Pole Vault - Section Champion Decathlong


Ton'Quez Ball (SD)  

PR -  LJ 22-3

IMAC Champion - All-State Long Jump AAA   

Shawn Stacy (Bearden)  

PR  - HJ 6-8

KIL & Section Champion - All-State HJ AAA 

Jaylen Foster (STEM) 

PRs  - HJ 6-4  LJ 21-8.25  TJ 45-9.75

KIL Champion LJ & TJ - All-State LJ/TJ/HJ

State Champion TJ  A-AA       

Landon Harrell (Heritage)
PRs  - Discus 152-0  Shot Put 49-10.25

All-State Discus & Shot Put AAA